April 28 to May 6, 2008

6/68

Mostly sanding the last few days.

I cut some Douglas Fir to size for the transom framing and glued them to the transom using Titebond III. I figure I am going to tape and epoxy these joints so using Titebond shouldn’t hurt anything. It’s so much nicer to use it than epoxy. I have to admit I am dreading doing the major filleting, taping and glassing.

I did finish shaping the rudder to its outline shape – I haven’t done the rounding over of the leading and trailing edges – by creating a 9″ radius template to round over the top and one corner of the bottom of the rudder. I do love that router! Clouds of sawdust but it does such a great job…way better than cutting with the jigsaw…which I tried but the blade deflected badly….and then having to file, rasp and sand the 1″ thick blank to roundness. It was far easier to shape a 1/4″ piece of scrap, clamp it to the rudder blank and then use the router.

I also cut the rudder cheek to size and rounded off the corner using the rudder template.

So, all the major components are ready to assemble! I have been reading and re-reading the various arguments pro and con on using epoxy on all surfaces before painting vs. just using paint. I have decided to go the epoxy route. As it is easy to determine where to mask off areas on the side panels to leave as bare wood for the filleting/taping/joining bulkheads process I am going to proceed as follows:

1 – Mask off the side panels and put the epoxy coats on the unmasked areas before assembly so that I can do this on horizontal surfaces,
2 – Assemble the side panels to the temporary form, bulkheads, transom and stem using screws,
3 – Check for straight and true assembly,
4 – Mark the bilge panels and bottom for masking and epoxy coating on the inside,
5 – Epoxy coat the bilge panels, bulkheads and bottom,
6 – Assemble the side panels and bulkheads, etc using thickened epoxy and screws to hold everything in place until the epoxy has cured,
7 – Drill holes in adjacent panels and wire the bilge panels and bottom,
8 – Use “spot welds” of unthickened epoxy and fillets to hold everything together
9 – Remove all wires
10 – Fillet, tape and epoxy all the interior joints.
11 – Sleep for a very long time.

Maybe by the end of this weekend I’ll have screwed the side panels to the bulkheads!!!! That will be exciting!

Leave a comment

Filed under Assembly, Glassing, Materials, Sanding and finishing, Tools

Leave a Reply

